Call for Nominations ( Deadline 15 June 2018 ):
Clay Morgan Award for Best Book in Environmental Political Theory

The Environmental Political Theory Section of the Western Political Science Association (WPSA) invites nominations for the Second Annual Clay Morgan Award for the Best Book in Environmental Political Theory .

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding scholarship, published in a book-length monograph, which utilizes the resources, literatures, and approaches of the field of political theory to address intersections between contemporary or historical environmental challenges on the one hand and the philosophical and ideological concepts, principles, and debates animating political life on the other. While the focus of the award is on political theory, we welcome books that make a contribution to the field from related disciplines – including, but not limited to, anthropology, environmental humanities, ethnic studies, geography, indigenous studies, philosophy, political economy, science and technology studies, or sociology.

Nominations must have been originally published within last three calendar years (2016-2018). Books may be co-authored, but edited collections are not eligible. Questions may be directed to the committee chair, John Meyer:

The committee anticipates announcing the award winner by August 31st. The author will be recognized and their book will be the subject of a roundtable discussion at the next WPSA annual meeting, in San Diego in April 2019.

Nominations will be accepted from authors, colleagues, and/or publishers. To be considered, arrangements should be made for the publisher to mail copies of the nominated book ( or ebook, in cases noted ) to the four committee members, below, to arrive by 15 June 2018.

John Meyer, Chair
Department of Politics
Humboldt State University
1 Harpst St.
Arcata, CA 95521 USA

Felicia Peck
Politics & Legal Studies
Merrill College
University of California Santa Cruz
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95064 USA
ebooks welcome:

Andrew Biro
Department of Politics
Acadia University
15 University Ave.
Wolfville, NS B4P 2R6 Canada

Sarah Wiebe
Department of Political Science
Saunders 640, 2424 Maile Way
University of Hawai‘i, Manoa
Honolulu, HI, 96822, USA
ebooks preferred due to summer travel:

The namesake of the award: Clay Morgan was an acquisitions editor in the field of environmental studies, first with SUNY Press and then for many years with MIT Press. He retired in January 2014. Throughout his career, Clay was uniquely influential in acquiring manuscripts in the field of environmental political theory, and thereby in helping to cultivate, shape, and support the development of this scholarly field.