At the 2021 Annual Meeting, the Association anticipates the following nine awards provided through the WPSA and the Political Research Quarterly:

The Betty Moulds Lifetime Service Award. This award was created to honor the contribution made by Betty Moulds to the WPSA. Moulds had an extraordinary impact on the association during her 25 years as its chief administrator. The Association would not enjoy the success that it has today without the efforts she made during all her years of service. The award is given to an individual who has made a long history of service and an extraordinary contribution to the WPSA

Clay Morgan Award for Best Book in Environmental Political Theory: The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding scholarship, published in a book-length monograph, which utilizes the resources, literatures, and approaches of the field of political theory to address intersections between contemporary or historical environmental challenges on the one hand and the philosophical and ideological concepts, principles, and debates animating political life on the other. While the focus of the award is on political theory, we welcome books that make a contribution to the field from related disciplines – including, but not limited to, anthropology, environmental humanities, ethnic studies, geography, indigenous studies, philosophy, political economy, science and technology studies, or sociology. See Call for Nominations

William E. Connolly Award: This annual award is for the best political theory paper in contemporary democratic thought, whether recognizing daring and innovative work by a young scholar or a bold new line of inquiry by an established scholar. It is named after William E. Connolly, world renowned political theorist, revered teacher and mentor, and long-time WPSA member.

Don T. Nakanishi Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Service in Asian Pacific American Politics: This annual award will recognize outstanding scholarship or service advancing the understanding or practice of Asian Pacific American politics. The recipient will be someone who has made a significant contribution to the understanding of Asian Pacific American politics (scholarship that examines more than one ethnoracial group is also eligible), or whose professional work has made a substantial contribution to the practice of Asian Pacific American politics. ($250 Award)

Dissertation Award: For the best doctoral dissertation completed at a university within the regional groupings of the WPSA between July 1 and June 30 of the previous academic year. ($250 award)

Pi Sigma Alpha Award:For the best paper presented at the previous WPSA annual meeting. ($500 award)

The Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award:For the best paper on women and politics presented at the previous Annual Meeting of the WPSA. ($250 award)

WPSA Best Paper Award on Latina/Latino Politics:For an outstanding paper on Latina/Latino politics and its relative aspects. ($250 award)

Award by Committee on the Status of Blacks:For an outstanding paper discussing issues and problems which concern most Black Americans. ($250 award)

Charles Redd Award for Best Paper on the Politics of the American West: an award offered jointly by the WPSA and the Charles Redd Center for Western Studies of Brigham Young University for the best paper on the politics of the American West presented at the previous Convention of the WPSA. Papers may cover a broad range of topics--governance, policy, culture, politics--and may compare the West to other regions. ($250 award)

The Politics, Groups, and Identities Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PGI during the prior calendar year. ($500 award)

The Political Research Quarterly Best Article Award. This award is given for the best article published by the PRQ during the prior calendar year. ($1000 award)

WPSA Best Paper in Environmental Political Theory Award: for the best paper in environmental political theory presented at the annual WPSA meeting. ($250 award).